Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rekless

Dracaena Marginata

Rekless
12 years ago

I have a Dracaena Marginata (I think lol) Im a beginner gardener and I dont no much about these plants except what I have read online. If anyone knows anything at all that would help me grow this plant for a long time and keep it healthy I would appreciate it. My dracaena is about a foot and a half from soil and has 6 branches off the top. Today I noticed a few leaves fell off I think I may have over watered it and my soil doesnt seem to be draining well any ideas?

Comments (28)

• gravyboots
    12 years ago

Rekless, D. marginatas are always going to be losing a few leaves from the bottom, as new leaves emerge from the top. Generally, they like things a little on the drier side, and a fair amount of light.

There is probably room for soil improvement, but I will let others address that issue; suffice it to say that my D. marginatas are dang happy in a very fast & coarse potting mix.

If your plant is in a tiny pot & root-bound, it may be a good idea to pot up (put into a bigger pot without disturbing the soil/rootball drastically) temporarily, until a more favorable time for repotting rolls around.

GB

Here is a link that might be useful: an informative page about D. marginata

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    12 years ago

The keys to growing your plant well are pretty much what GB mentioned. Good soil is undoubtedly a key issue, and the best light you can manage will go a long way toward helping you maintain the plant at its peak of vitality. For the long term, the ability to flush the soil and still not be concerned about root rot is important. I think you would probably get a lot of useful information at the thread I'll link you to below. It talks about soils, watering, fertilizing, and many of the things you'll need to understand to become proficient.

Take care.

Al

Here is a link that might be useful: An overview for you

• Rekless
    Original Author