Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
just_kazari

Daffodils (Narcissus) drooping....help?

kazari
16 years ago

Hello,

I bought a pot of daffodils about one to two weeks ago to decorate my windowsill (indoors). It grew amazingly and bloomed very quickly in short order, but now the leaves are drooping all over the place, and while the bulbs are still flowering to a certain extent, the blooms seem to dry up before they even get going.

The bulbs can't be done already, are they? I'd hoped to get a little more mileage out of them before prepping the bulbs for outdoor spring planting.

What should I do to keep them going longer, if that's possible? Any help on this or any other tips on care would be appreciated.

Thanks very much.

Comments (7)

• saucer
    16 years ago

I'm no expert on Narcissus, but from what I've been told this is pretty typical. The bulbs will go dormant when they're ready, even if you aren't. :) Mine is doing the same thing right now. I've found that sometimes plants just seem to sit at the nursery and/or garden center so long that, byt he time you buy them and take them home they're already pretty much done blooming.

• shiver
    16 years ago

I don't do indoor bulbs much anymore for the same reason----indoor light is just not enough to keep them from getting droopy. If you put them in full sun they'll be slightly less droopy, but usually even that isn't enough. Also, bulb blooms tend to be pretty short-lived indoors (more heat indoors vs outdoors = short-lived blooms).

As for re-planting in the spring, you can, but don't expect great results. Bulbs that have been "forced" into blooming early lose most of their energy and never return to being great plants.

• nandina
    16 years ago