Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gigiml_gw

What is this plant and why is it dying?

GigiML
10 years ago

Hi, this is my first time posting here. I've had this plant for probably 8 years. I don't know what it's called so haven't been able to google any research to find out what's wrong with it. If you can tell me what the name of the plant is, that would be great. The plant has been in the same pot in the same place and receiving the same care for 5 years. Actually, it was repotted about 8 years ago when I got it. A few years ago it was getting so big and top heavy that I finally had to string it up with fishing wire to keep it from spilling out into the room. Recently (maybe the last 6 months?) the plant seems to be dying. It's lost A LOT of fronds (it used to be much fuller) and some of the stems are just shriveling and dying altogether. One of the stems where the fronds fell off is just dry and hollow now. You may be able to see in the picture that the uppermost sprout of fronds is yellowing and I fear that's the next to go. This plant has very special meaning to me and I'd be very sad if it dies. Does anyone have any idea what is wrong with it or what I might be able to do to save it? Thanks!

Comments (7)

• pumpkineater2
    10 years ago

Your plant is a dracaena marginata. You will need to repot it since it has been in that pot for 8 years. That's probably the primary reason for it's decline. You can also chop off the top of the plant and one or more new crowns will grow from each stem that you cut. I wouldn't recommend repotting and hard pruning at the same time though. I would recommend repotting it first before you prune it. Others will chime in as well. I hope this helps:)

Jason

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

Hi & welcome to GW. Agreed, Dracaena marginata. An awesome one! I think the info here would be especially helpful to you. It should be pretty straightforward to get this plant back to robustness.