Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
ZZ Plant

Posted by AlexLeo Minnesota (My Page) on
Tue, Feb 19, 13 at 9:40

I have had a ZZ Plant (Zamioculcas zamiifolia) for 5 months now. It is located in an East/South Window in the living room. So far, it seemed to be doing quite well, I watered every 2 weeks, nice dark green leaves. About a month ago it started to sprout several new branches that are light green and the tallest is now beginning to unfurl (does this unfurling part take several weeks normally?).
I was very excited originally, but for the last week some of the leaves on older branches in the center of the plant have begun to turn yellow and fall off ....

Is that normal? Or is my ZZ plant actually NOT doing well despite the new growth?

This is my first house plant so I have no experience with it, any input would be greatly appreciated!
Thank you lots in advance,
Alex

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: ZZ Plant

I have a zz plant doing the same thing right now, and yes, in my experience, they do take quite some time to unfurl and mature. I don't know how long it takes exactly, but i have had two pushing from the ground for at least a month now and they are just now beginning to open up at the tips.
unless someone with more experience than i've got wants to chime in here i would say to keep on doing what you're doing!!

o

AlexLeo,
I also agree that the unfurling and maturing takes awhile, so don't be worried about that. I am concerned about the leaves turning yellow though, I believe that's a sign of overwatering. Every two weeks sounds a bit too much imo. I have mine in a 10'' pot and I water it about once a month. Hopefully someone with more experience than myself will chime in as well.

Planto

o

When mine turned yellow it was because of overwatering. It was in the gritty mix and I had been told it wasn't possible, so I discarded the thought. It's gone to ZZ heaven now.

o

Hi Alex,