Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jojosplants

Elkhorn/Staghorn Fern~ Anyone growing this??

jojosplants
14 years ago

I saw this at the Home Depot the other day and just had to have it!

Do you have any tips if you grow this. I was thinking of a hanging basket with the coco lining and orchid mix. The pot it came in is water stained and looks horrible!

I would be growing it indoors. It just gets too windy here, if I put it out, it would be torn up in a day.

Thanks,

JoJo

{{gwi:72612}}

{{gwi:72613}}

Comments (21)

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    14 years ago

Hi, JoJo!
    These plants are often mounted to mossy boards, or else suspended by chains, et cetera.
    They become QUITE large and quite heavy from what I've read/heard/seen.

Josh

• donaldb
    14 years ago

I've been growing four of these for the past six years indoors here in Massachusetts during the fall and winter months. Late spring and summer they are brought outdoors and weather quite nicely. I noticed your in Arizona. They do like humidity and a misting.As greenman mentioned they do get quite large but it is my belief that a hot humid environment will be the contributing factor to them getting QUITE LARGE. The ones I have are in large slatted teak orchid baskets growing in sphagnum moss. Here are a couple of links that you will find interesting.
    http://mgonline.com/articles/stag.aspx
    http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/mg015

You may want to "Google" up The Fern Factory, but at this moment their server was down.

Happy growing.

Here is a link that might be useful: Staghorn Fern Culture

• meyermike_1micha
    14 years ago

Jojo,

I love this plant..I wanted to buy one a few weeks back, and I didn't think they could even grow indoors until Don here says it can be done.