Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alpanther

Rubber Plant Cutting

alpanther
12 years ago

Hello all--

On Thanksgiving, my grandma gave me a good sized cutting from her ancient rubber plant to grow. I read through some posts here and there about what to do and I think I've got some stuff done.

It's in a giant plastic bag, in it's pot. I keep the bag misted to provide moisture and water it from time to time.

I know this was a bad time of year to do a cutting.

Which window is better for this plant? At what point can I stop treating it like a cutting and remove it from the set up and treat it like a small plant?

Thanks for your help!

Comments (14)

• scsva
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Love these plants. I'm no expert but if it was mine, I would take it out of the bag and set it where it gets good light.

Susan

• scsva
    12 years ago

oh, forgot to ask. Has it rooted yet?

Susan

• tropicofcancer (6b SW-PA)
    12 years ago

Rubber plant or any plant in the ficus family will easily root from cutting. Just keep it misted, not too much otherwise mold will start growing. The soil should be damp, keep it in a warm lighted location.

• alpanther
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hello again--

Sorry for the long hiatus on this. I continued keeping my tree in its 'bag' throghout the winter and this summer, it has been growing pretty awesomely.

I've provided a picture of the plant so far...just needing some additional help:

How's the pot size? Too big? Too small?

How often do I want to keep it watered?

What kind of sun do they like? (east, south, etc)

Thank you so much!

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:73368}}

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago