Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mmason8183

Help! What do I do with this tree?

Maria M
11 years ago

I have had this tree (not sure what its called) for probably around 10 years. It is now so tall that it cannot stand up on its own (hence my husband holding it). If I were to cut it down to a reasonable height would it sprout new growth? I'd hate to kill it. Any suggestions?

Comments (8)

• auron22
    11 years ago

It is definetly a dracaena, but i can't tell you more specifically than that. I would do some research/googling starting with that. The care can vary depending on which dracaena it is. I believe if you prune it, it will grow another crown, perhaps more. I would chop it 6 inches or less below the recurve (or his hand) and try to train the new crowns to lean slightly in all directions to maintain balance. Just a suggestion, i am not experienced with dracaena of any kind (other than lucky bamboo...but it's very easy to care for), i would still do a little research.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago

Move it outdoors as soon as night lows are above 55". Cut it back as hard as you want in mid-late June. Do a full repot at the same time you cut it back.

If you want more plants, start air layers now. They should be well-rooted by the time you do the summer work.

Al

• tropicbreezent
    11 years ago

Dracaenas are a very easy plant but do flop when they get tall in low light. You can prune it very low and that usually produces a bushier plant, especially if you have it in stronger light. What you prune off it will strike readily if you want more plants.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

Hi "Mason," welcome to Gardenweb!

Dracaena marginata. Great job keeping it growing for so long! Looks like it's leaning toward the light. Rotating regularly can help prevent that.