Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zobie02

please help! newbie here

zobie02
10 years ago

My plant is dying and I don't know what to do! I have this Massangeana plant (I think) and it started dying all of a sudden. I know this may sound stupid but I am pretty attached to this plant, it's the first plant that I have owned, and I got it when I first got my own place, and at the same time I also got my first puppy and started grad school, so I group all of those together and I really want to save this plant. It used to very healthy, I kept it in the garage for the winter it was doing just fine and I noticed one day that it started to look like it was wilting, so I put some water in it and thought that it will be OK, but it started to get worse in the next few days. So I thought that I might be too cold and I brought it inside and put it in a place with not much sunlight. The next day it looked way worse, I thought maybe it was adjusting and it will get better, and the next day (today) it looked like it has died. I just don't understand how it looked from looking kind sad to dead in three days. It's not overwatered. I moved it into a pot twice as big about 8 months ago, the pot has drainage holes that I drilled. I don't know what to do, I just gave it a bath thinking that it might help but I really have no experience and would love some advice. I am not sure if it can be saved but I would like to try. Thank you to much!

Comments (37)

• plantomaniac08
    10 years ago

How cold was it in your garage? It looks like it froze. What is all those white spots all over the plant by the way? It looks like it used to be some sort of Dracaena. I'll let someone else chime in, but I think it may be a goner.

Planto

• zobie02
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The white spots are water bubbles because I just gave it a bath. The garage is usually 45 to 55 degrees Fahrenheit. There are other plants there and they are fine.

• plantomaniac08
    10 years ago

zobie02,