Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kaktuskris

Red Mangrove

kaktuskris
13 years ago

Anyone else here currently growing Red Mangrove as a houseplant? I have 3 plants currently growing in a jar of salt water with fired clay and charcoal as media, and they seem to like it. I like the leathery leaves.

Christopher

{{gwi:74440}}

Comments (13)

• amccour
    13 years ago

Do mangrove's actually need salt water to grow? I knew they tolerated it, but if they actually require it that's pretty interesting.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    13 years ago

No, they don't need salt water - nor do they need to grow in water at all.
    If I'm remembering rightly, they are able to direct salts to a few sacrificial leaves,
    which yellow and then drop. Mangrove are probably healthier when grown in soil,
    but they're a novelty when grown in water/fish-tanks.

Josh

• kaktuskris
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Josh, I don't know if they "need" salt water, as I am not an expert, but I don't believe Red Mangrove do better in soil. In their native habitat in Florida, I have only observed them near salt water. Nor have I seen ornamental plantings away from water or near fresh water. I tried fresh water with my mangroves, and saw some decline, so switched back to salt water.

If they receive too much salt, some leaves will yellow and drop. But they actually transpire, if that is the correct term, any excess salts through the stem. They also have roots, known as "knees" I think, which will grow vertically above the water line. Interesting plants, in my opinion.

Christopher

13 years ago

I think they're really interesting plants, as well.

Yeah, they have structures in their roots that allow them to "breathe" when the tide comes in
    (and also exclude salts from entering). I'm a big fan of trees, like Cypress, that develop those
    "knees" you mentioned in order to cope with flooded conditions.