Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
frugalfanny

Taxonomy Nerds: Chlorophytum fire flash

FrugalFanny
11 years ago

Hello. Does anybody know what the scientific name of Chlorophytum x fire flash is? I found two plants for sale on glasshouse works that look like fire flash to me: C. amaniense and C. Orchidastrum/ orchidantheroides. What is the difference between them and which is commonly referred to as "fire flash", or do they both go by that common name? Anyone?

Here is the page I'm mulling over, if it helps at all: http://glasshouseworks.com/trop-c.html

Comments (15)

• summersunlight
    11 years ago

I am not an expert, but I would expect it is probably some kind of hybrid

• tropicbreezent
    11 years ago

The "X fire flash" in the name indicates it's a hybrid. But I don't know between which species of Chlorophytum.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

I would think the guys at Glasshouse Works would know as much as about anybody else. If you call, I'm sure they'd talk to you, I've met them both, very nice guys.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago

I see no indication that this is a hybrid. I 'think ' that this is Chlorophytum amaniense which has been given a trademarked name of Fire Flash. Heck, that name might not even be trademarked. C. Orchidantheroides is just a synonym for C. amaniense.

The name would probably read : Chlorophytum amansiense "Fire Flash".

• dsws
    11 years ago

Here's a page that seems to say that C. amaniense is a subspecies of C. filipendulum: http://eol.org/pages/1086779/details.

Here's a page that lists a bunch of synonyms for C. orchidastrum: http://arctos.database.museum/name/Chlorophytum%20orchidastrum

And this page has an image for C. orchidastrum: http://eol.org/pages/1086855/overview

Here is a link that might be useful: Eol page for C. orchidastrum

• FrugalFanny
    Original Author
    11 years ago