Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plant_lover_ut

ZZ plant soil suggestion..

Plant_Lover_UT
10 years ago

I rotted my two zz plants before due to bad soil. However, I just planted new two my zz plants with MicroGrow Potting Mix soil in one pot.

Are my ZZ plants ok with this? Do I need to fertilize the soil since it is new?

I am a newbie with indoor plants.

Thanks

Comments (29)

• Plant_Lover_UT
    Original Author
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Another pix

• Plant_Lover_UT
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another Pix

• petrushka (7b)
    10 years ago

did you mean to say miracleGrow ? if so - that's too damp for them, it needs to be cut with fine bark/perlite to like one part each. or 50% perlite.
    at least do not water them unless the the mix is dry all the way to the bottom: take a chopstick/skewer, stick in the pot - if it's dry all the way, then water. and then not much. basically like a succulent.
    they look very healthy, but i would use half of the pot volume, just barely to fit in the roots.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    10 years ago

....and you might want to remove the attached drip-tray so that there is never water standing in there.

Josh

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    10 years ago

Deleted duplicate

This post was edited by tapla on Sun, Mar 16, 14 at 12:05

• Plant_Lover_UT
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi All,

Thanks all for your help. I today went to ask the plant expert at Lows about the soil I bough. She said "perlite is added to the MiracleGro" that I bought.

She also suggest I should take the drip-tray off the pot, put the stones in the drip-tray, and seat the pot on it. When there is the water in the drip-tray, it will evaporate up -->the plant will happy with it.

Thanks all,

Jimmy

• Plant_Lover_UT
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another Pix

10 years ago

Yes, a good idea to separate the drip-tray, as I noted.