Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_amos

Got a Dracaena Marginata that needs some serious lovin'! How to s

organic_amos
15 years ago

Bought this dracaena marginata a couple of days ago from Loblaws (see photo) on sale for $5 bucks. It looked that pitiful in the store, hence the price. I thought with some lovin', I'd save the plant from certain death and consider it a challenge. But I'm a beginner, so I don't much know where to start in saving this plant. Do I cut the bad parts off of the bad leaves? I'm putting it near a south-facing window -- should it be close to the window or if not, how far from it? Should I give it plant food? Any other tips to nurse it back to health? Thanks!

Here is a link that might be useful: Dracaena marginata in bad shape

Comments (12)

• jeannie7
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Amos, the dracaena marginata prefers bright light...and in giving such enhances a red stripe down the edges of the leaves.
    The leaves themselves then acquire deep olive greeness.

Dracaena, as a group of plants, gets along with standard potting mixes---make sure the soil drains well.
    The water given should drain in a reasonable time depending on the amount of soil and the compactness of the soil when you water.
    You'll no doubt hear a lot of information about water that the dracaena does not get along with well.
    That is, the plant resents water with a high degree of salts. When you fertilize, such salts can build over time...many months, years maybe. So don't concern yourself too much with this. Make sure the plant drains and when, after thorough draining, the water in the saucer below is not allowed to sit for more than 10 or so minutes.
    What happens if that is not dumped, the water then is drawn back up---after having got rid of the salts--it reaquires it around the roots.