Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
environness

selaginella moss and polka dot plant dying?

environness
10 years ago

Hi I'm completely new to plants and I need help! I have a polka dot plant and selaginella moss plant in a terrarium. I kept them in separate pots for a month and watered them a lot and they thrived and grew. I then placed them in a terrarium and the moss started to have hard, dry, yellow stems and it's leaves were turning yellow so i cut some parts off and i put them around to try to get them to root but they just decomposed.
The polka dot plant is looking a little leggy. I'm not sure if i should pinch it out some more because the individual stems only have a few leaves on top and i'm afraid they won't grow back if there are no leaves at all.
Also, if it pinch the tops off, can i leave the stems in the soil and will they root and grow? The low leaves are really just some parts I've pinched off that I'm trying to rot. I've pinched some parts of the plant so much that the stems dried up and ave become brown like sticks so I'm not sure what to do.
I keep the terrarium next to a window in indirect sunlight and it is under florescent lighting at night when I'm working for around 5 hours each day. I only spray it now that it's in a terrarium and sometimes i seal it. The soil is always moist and it's humid and you can see condensation on the glass so I don't think it's dying because im under watering it. Help!

Comments (9)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    10 years ago

How long is it 'sealed'? air tight?

Fertilizer? What? How much?

Soil type?

How do you water? Tap water? Do you have an ionic exchange water softener?

At times, can you see a delineation through the glass between an upper fraction of the soil that is moist only (has air in it) and a lower portion that is soggy/saturated?

Al

• environness
    Original Author
    10 years ago

The picture is how the moss is looking right now.