Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
papercarver_gw

Large ficus lyrata donated to library in need of rejuvenation

papercarver
13 years ago

Hi there:

I am a librarian in a small Massachusetts public library and last winter we were donated a large, rangy ficus lyrata. The tree is already touching our 10' ceiling and consists of two spindly trunks that are supported by two metal rods. The plant cannot hold itself up without them. While growth seems robust at the tips, the leaves closest to the trunk are yellowing between the veins and rusting.

I have reading around this forum and read alot about when to prune and when to repot (plus some potting mixes that I've never considered before) and despite everything I've read, I'm not sure what to do *specifically* for *this* plant and *when* to do it.

Here are some photos of the plant:

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/n531/papercarver/20110204ficuslyrata.jpg

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/n531/papercarver/20110204ficuslyrata9.jpg

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/n531/papercarver/20110204ficuslyrata7.jpg

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/n531/papercarver/20110204ficuslyrata3.jpg

http://i1138.photobucket.com/albums/n531/papercarver/20110204ficuslyrata2.jpg

The plant is located next to a west facing window in a large sunny alcove. It is watered every seven days, which allows it to be somewhat dry by the next watering. So far I have not fertilized it - am not sure what is best practice for a tree as rangy ans stressed out as this one is at this point.

I would like to prune it such that a)It no longer bumps against the ceiling; and b)it might be better able to support itself.

I am also sure it would benefit from repotting (have no idea if it has been repotted in the last decade!), but have never attempted such a thing with a 10' tall multi-trunked tree.

Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.

thanks, papercarver

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:76724}}

Comments (4)