Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
beachlakegrower

Mold on clay pots

beachlakegrower
18 years ago

Hi,

I am pretty new to houseplants and new to this forum. I have a few plants in my apartment in clay and plasic pots. Aesthetically, I prefer the clay pots but I have noticed that 5 of the 6 clay pots that I have seem to have a whitish/grayish powdery sort of mold growing on them. I'm not allergic to molds, but I still want to avoid this from happening.

I thought about wiping the pots down with a bleach solution, but I am not sure if this could harm the plants or if it would offer a long-term solution. Not to mention that bleach is nasty stuff to deal with anyway.

Has anyone had a problem with mold growing on their clay pots and is there something I can do to stop the mold that is growing now and prevent this from continuing in the future? I appreciate any feedback. Thank you.

Comments (32)

• canttype
    18 years ago

I'm not certain that the white powdery stuff on your pots is mold. I'm under the impression that this is caused by salts and fertilizer residue.Clay pots seem to absorb these things. The same whte stuff can lie on top of the soil..... Which is my cue to leach my plants or replace the soil as most plants can't take too much salt. Unglazed clay pots can be deadly to African Violets because they really can't take the salt.

I use bleach to clean all my pots before planting in them. It's a good soak/scrub for previously used clay pots to ensure that disease/molds/fungi don't stay and damage a new plant. That does'nt seem to effect the plant being planted into it, but to use bleach while the plant is residing in a pot? Maybe not a good idea?

Have they been in those pots for awhile? Is it time to repot your plants in clay? Change the soil and wash the pots?

Hope that helps you somewhat!
    Diane

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    18 years ago

Ha! And Martha Stewart conducts CLASSES in how to make clay pots look aged!