Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
plantsaremylife_grow

I'm new here

Hello everyone! I'm new to having an account but not new to visiting this awesome site. I probably come to this site once or twice a day; I'm that into it. Anyway, I am looking for some newer and more exotic plants to have as houseplants and wonder if anyone has recently had any success with any of these?

Tacca (tried many, many, many times and not giving up; although very, very unsuccessful)

Eucharis grandiflora

Jatropha podagrica

Parochetus communis "Blue Oxalis"

Hydnophytum formicarium "Ant Plant"

Nematanthus corticola

Anthurium 'Superbum'

These are just some of the many plants on my long wish list for this coming season. If anyone can help with tips, warnings, I would greatly appreciate any helpful response...Kyle

Comments (7)

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    14 years ago

Welcome, Kyle! I hope that this is the beginning of a long and fruitful experience in the Gardenweb!

You've listed a bunch of plants that I would ordinarily think of as greenhouse plants. Do you have a special environment that will enable you to have lots of light and humidity?

• plantsaremylife_grow
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks for the welcome rhizo_1! The best thing I have are some big south windows. I don't provide any sort of extra humidity for any of my existing plants. I somehow manage quite well with Medinilla magnifica, maidenhair ferns(not in the south windows) and other plants that tend to need extra added humidity though. Foliage wise these plants do well given no extra humidity in my south windows. I have other plants like several hoya, palms, monstera, anthuriums and the like in these south windows all flourishing. I've never really even thought my house had good humidity, especially for anthuriums and a medinilla magnifica! They all made it through the winter though in good condition.