Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ohiofem

Unidentified exotic flower

Can anyone identify the flower in this photo? The buds are fuzzy, almost like a pussy willow, before they open.

{{gwi:79020}}

{{gwi:79021}}

Comments (16)

• val1
    12 years ago

My guess would be a saucer magnolia, but I am new to this. They are stunningly beautiful!

• johnsonm08
    12 years ago

THe flowers in the lower pic seem to be amaryllis (hippeastrum) The upper photo are magnolia.

• flora_uk
    12 years ago

Yes - two different plants are shown.

• Ohiofem 6a/5b Southwest Ohio
    Original Author
    12 years ago

It's definitely the same plant, just photos taken from different angles a couple days apart. The flowers shown in the top photo bloomed from the branches on the lower left in the second photo. I'm not trying to stump anyone. This is an arrangement from an unknown florist given to a friend who asked me to help her identify it. So we can't ask the florist what it is.

• snappyguy
    12 years ago

Looks like a Magnolia to me. The have large fuzzy buds shaped like that, and are coming into bloom in many parts of the country this time of year. They will also bloom before the leaves come out, so seeing the flowers on bare sticks that don't seem to have been defoliated makes me think Magnolia too.

Mark

Original Author
    12 years ago

Magnolia seems like a good guess to me. But that color is one I've never seen in a magnolia. I wonder if you could root one of the branches and grow a tree from it? Anyone know?

• zzackey
    12 years ago

Definitely Amaryllis. The stem goes all the way up and it's the same flower. Very pretty. I never saw that color amaryllis.

• pirate_girl
    12 years ago

Sorry, OF,

That doesn't seem possible. I'm w/ Zackey on this, that's an Amaryllis. I too see where its stem goes all the way up. Very different style branch & stem from that to the stem & buds in the 1st pic.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    12 years ago