Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luvofroses

anthurium

luvofroses
15 years ago

I saw one of these today did not buy it until someone from here could tell me about this. I am a novice at house plants. I have some African Violets, just got my first hoya and my first peace lilly. Is this lovely plant something I could grow and not kill? Please lend me any of your expertise, if this something a novice that learns quickly can do. thank you so very much. I will be waiting for any and all help

Ann

Comments (25)

• greattigerdane
    15 years ago

Easy plant!

I treat my anthurium pretty much like a peace lily, except more brighter indirect light and some direct sun.It sits off to the side a little bit of a south facing window.

The soil is kept on the side of "semi evenly moist" not wet, letting it dry down a couple of inches or so before watering again.

Some people might think this plant needs to have extra humidity to do well, but really, it does not.
    I have had for a 2 or 3 yrs and never do anything special.I don't mist, or keep it on a pebble tray and it does perfectly fine.
    Double potting can help keep the soil moist if it's planted in a clay pot.

You'll want to make sure that it's not over-potted, but more on the snug side with soil that drains well.

Billy Rae

• luvofroses
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks Billy Rae, I really think i will go back and get one. I am just getting back into houseplants after eons of being without plants.It all started the first of the month when i really wanted an African Violet ( for some unknown reason )I used to have these for a long while in my younger years.I now have 8 violets, a peace lilly and a hoya.All this in less than a month. So far everyone seems happy and are still alive. I would love to add the anthurium. Is there a common name for this plant and does it grow big and unrully or does it behave it self? Thanks for any and all your help and/or suggestions.
    Ann

• greattigerdane
    15 years ago