Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sooey_gw

Potting up of Corn Plants

sooey
13 years ago

Hi Kids,

I have 5 corn plant stalks now rooting in water. All have pushed out new growth at the tops and I can see swelling at the bottoms where the roots will develop. How long should I wait before I put them in dirt? Should the roots be growing or can I pot them now before the roots develop. Also, how deep can I plant them? If I put a 15" stem that has roots only on the bottom 5", into a pot that is 10" deep, will it continue to develop roots all along the stem that is below the dirt?

Thanks, Kids.

sooey

Comments (6)

• jane__ny
    13 years ago

I was hoping someone would give you advice. I have no knowledge of corn plants but would guess you should wait for the roots before potting. I would then pot no deeper than the roots unless Corn Plants are similar to tomatoes, which would be planted deeper.

Hopefully, someone will pipe in.

Sorry,
    Jane

• Gardener972
    13 years ago

I'm surprised they didn't rot in the water! Pull them out and plant them now. Last year I cut the tops off mine and stuck them directly in dirt. They're growing fine.

• sooey
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks Kids,

I have cut these corn plants back so many times that I now have a forest of them in my home. I have cut them back by air layering, cut and placed directly into dirt as well as rooted in water. All three have worked well but I was not sure if taking them out of water and putting them in dirt before the roots were developed was a good thing or a bad thing. I have been known to keep them in water for two years before finally getting around to potting them up so I know they will be fine if I leave them as is.