Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
clickermel

Spider Mites -- everywhere!

clickermel
18 years ago

This is my first year for getting serious about indoor plants -- I've always had a few (luckily, they thrived on neglect ), but I've graduated to a huge plant shelf, which is full, plus about 15 pots on the floor.

I'd noticed that a couple of them were failing to thrive, although I was watering carefully (when top inch of soil was dry) and thoroughly. The room is chilly at night (55-60 degrees) but during the day a space heater is used, so it can get warm and dry.

Then, more of my plants started to look ill. At first I thought the problem was low humidity, so I started misting and leaving lots of open containers of water around the plants. It was at this time that I noticed it -- webbing. Ugh. On most of the plants! It didn't take me long on Google to realize I had spider mites. On *all* my plants.

I have hauled all but one (huge) plant upstairs and into the bathroom, and they've all gotten a shower (getting the undersides of the leaves and the stems well); I'm going to repeat that in a couple of days and do it again in about a week.

However, this does not help with the huge thunbergina (sp?) vine with its own 8' trellis. There's no way to get that thing up the stairs, I don't have a sprayer on my sink, and it's too cold to do it outside. So far, I've continued misting (a couple of times a day) to increase humidity, as I know the mites don't like that, tried to keep the heat down more during the day, and have tried to use a paper towel soaked in water with a couple of drops of dishsoap to wipe off the bottoms of the leaves.

However, there are a LOT of leaves. And I can't get to all of the stems because they're wrapped around the trellis (and the plant shelf, and each other, and . . . )