Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
clearance magestic palm

Posted by Smurfishy none (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 17, 12 at 23:49

I decided to buy these decent size majestic palm plants priced at $6 a peice. I am very new to this plant. First bad thing I noticed is that they were bone dry, second thing I noticed was a dead plant, I pulled it out and there were some bugs where the dead stump was. When I got it home I noticed I would have some work to do with pruning the dead ends and that there were round brown spots in plenty various places.

Is this plant helpless, should I bring it back? Whats the best way to prune? When I re-pot should I break up the individual plants and loosen/cut the roots as I would with other plants? Thanx for any help/advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: clearance magestic palm

Majesty Palms in particular are really hard to keep alive in normal house conditions. The best strategy would be to put it outside for the spring/summer and then (assuming you live in a cold climate) bring it inside only for the winter.
They really prefer the warmth, sunshine, and humidity of being outside and it will be hard to keep it happy inside a home.

o

I repotted it and pruned it using a home made potting mix. I put some old fish tank gravel at the bottom to help with drainage. I did not break up the roots or anything because I read in a few places that it likes being root bound. I then cut off all the ends I saw that were browned, I think there is a bunch of new growth that died off but I am going to wait and see what happens before pruning it.

o

Hi, welcome to gardenweb.

round brown spots in plenty various places...

Do you mean dead spots on the leaves or bumpy spots? Trimming off the dead parts is a good idea. Rarely is a plant helpless, so I doubt yours are. Would you have an interest in showing us some pics?