Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bergeby

pachira tips?

bergeby
10 years ago

Hey!
I'm pretty new to house plants, and all of the ones I have so far (just four, all different) are looking good, but I was wondering about specific tips to keep them from dying until I feel like I know what I'm doing!

My favourite of my plants is a 5-braid pachira, which is just under a foot tall. I got it from a good nursery so I know it wasn't mistreated, but I'm sure that the pot is too small and it's in regular potting soil still (I need to learn about what different mixtures I should make for optimal growth and health). I have it sitting on a table right against a northern facing window, so it gets morning sunlight. I've only watered it once since I got it (maybe two weeks ago), and I'm definitely going to use the skewer trick to check the soil.

How do pachira react to overpotting? I want to give the plant a little more time to adjust itself to the pot that it's in right now, but I would like to move it into a larger pot soon (partially to give it more room, and partially so I can repot it in a better soil mix).

Any tips would be really awesome!

Berg

Comments (8)

• Photo Synthesis
    10 years ago

Have you lifted it up from the pot to check on its roots? If they are pretty root bound and seem somewhat crowded, then it would be fine to repot into a pot that's one size larger. I have a Pachira that's around six feet tall and it grew just fine in a pot that seemed small for its size. But I finally had to break down and repot it last year into a larger pot, mainly because it was so top-heavy that it kept falling over when I had it outside. It didn't seem to mind having its roots disturbed. I just carefully knocked off all of the old soil, and repotted with some fresh.