Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
eahamel

Find of the Day

eahamel
11 years ago

I really didn't plan to come home from the grocery store with plants. I have enough plants. really I do.

But I've been eyeing these plants for 2 or 3 months now. They have recently restocked their plant shelves at the front entrance of the store, and these three were stuck to one side, on the floor, away from the display. I took one inside and asked a cashier if maybe the manager would discount them. I was hoping for half price. She went to the manager's office with the plant. I couldn't hear what they said but he stuck up one finger. I got all 3 of these for $1.00 each! I had only planned to get one of the narrow leafed ones, but at that price I took all three.

I know that the one in the middle is a Chinese Evergreen, but am not sure what the other is. Another Chinese Evergreen? Someone help me, there are no labels on them.

Comments (17)

• teengardener1888
    11 years ago

DONT KNOW ABOUT THE OTHERS BUT THE ONE IN THE WINDOW IS PROBALLY DIEFFENBACHIA

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

I think both are Aglaonema. But why would they put those in red foil/plastic? (Please remove that ASAP!) From what I've seen, that's usually reserved for flowering, seasonal plants, but in a grocery store setting, may just be necessary so they don't make a mess.

• eahamel
    Original Author
    11 years ago

You're both right. I removed the red papers, and the Dieffenbachia doesn't have a tag, but the growth is right, wrong for Chinese Evergreen like I was thinking. The others actually had tags hidden by the paper, and they are Elite Aglaonemia 'White Lance'. I really wanted one of those when they showed up, but not for the price they had on them.

I think they had the red paper (it isn't foil but is water-resistant) on them because they were part of their Easter plants. That's how long they've been there, and they are all 3 healthy.

11 years ago