Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greendale_gw

Soil, Watering, Fertilizer and questions for Al (tapla)

greendale
12 years ago

Hi, Al and all the friends that following Al's theory.

First I just wanted to say thank you very much for sharing the knowledge of growing plants in container. Especially the soil - I am very new to growing in-house plants and I never owned any plants before. I was so excited to grow some plants in our soon-to-move-in new house - I did some research on this topic before I start and oh man, I was swimming in the Ocean of knowledge. I have to admit how ignorant I was before reading your posts/articles of soil, watering and fertilize - I was thinking either the mix from store or the garden soil is good enough for the plant - somehow the soil will magically generates nutrients that plants need, I thought using fertilizer is so un-green /un-organic, and as long as I provide enough water and light, the plants will thrive. At a first look on your soil - it just against the intuition - how can a plant grow in such media? well, if that works, why in the nature we do not have many plants growing in sand - they always growing in soil? But as I read along I understand the theory behind it and saw so many friends testimonies (experience) on GW. Further more you explained the scientific reason for that and I believe Science. :)

Ok, enough for my retrospective. I have not read all your posts yet, but I read most of the posts regarding Soil, Watering and Fertilizer. I wanted to get started and with my hands get dirty more questions will come up, but here here are the questions for me to get the mix ready:

1. I saw in different places you mentioned different media to use for the soil - the theory is to water the plant copiously and to lower the water table. One option is