Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jostus

On watering hundreds of office plants

Florida_Joe's_Z10a
10 years ago

I just got a job caring for hundreds of office plants at various NYC locations. The watering can I was given seems inefficient. What can I used in place or in addition to it to make my job a bit easier and faster?

Comments (4)

• birdsnblooms
    10 years ago

Jostus,

I worked at a retail plant store, but the company also sold and hired techs to care for (water/fertilize) plants in malls, offices, etc.

The techs used a push/watering tank, with various hose attachments on wheels. Tank held 30-40 gallons of water.
    Were you given a watering can? Or push tank?
    Toni

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

Who gave you the watering can? The terms "hundreds of plants " and "watering can " don't match up, in my mind.

• PRO
    The Ficus Wrangler
    10 years ago

Oh Jostus, where to start!?! I've been an interior landscaper for 30 years, and a question like yours just makes me cringe. The most disturbing aspect of your question is that you even have to ask it...it sounds as though you were given a watering can, a list of addresses, and no training. Kudos to you for trying to find information on your own.

First, the issue of the watering can. A watering can (should be 2 watering cans, really) is basic equipment for a plant tech. The watering tank, or water machine, as we usually call it, that Toni describes is also basic equipment. You should have a water machine for larger accounts - say 20 or 30 plants, or roughly 1/2 hour service time. On smaller accounts it may be just as easy, or easier, to use 2 watering cans. Very small accounts - 5-15 plants, say - can probably be done with 1 can.