Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kellojello_gw

Dracaena marginata (Dragon Palm)

Kellojello
10 years ago

I am a total novice when it comes to plants and gardening, so please forgive me if I am posting this in the wrong place or not giving enough information. I repotted my dragon palm for the first time about 3 weeks ago (I have had it for almost 4 years at my office). Half of the plant is not doing well at all - I am attaching pictures in hopes that some of you with more knowledge can give me some advice.

Thank you in advance!

Comments (14)

• Kellojello
    Original Author
    10 years ago

close up of yellow drooping half

• birdsnblooms
    10 years ago

Hello & Welcome, Kello,

Nope, you're in the right forum. We pretty much discuss all plants here.

Your Dracaena isn't getting enough light.
    Is it before a window? If so, which direction and distance?
    Or under artificial bulbs as its main light source?

Toni

• Kellojello
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Well the main source of light would be the fluorescent overhead lights in my office. There is a small window that faces east, I guess about 10 feet away. But my plant has been in the same place for the past 4 years and has never had this problem.

• Sugi_C (Las Vegas, NV)
    10 years ago

Kello, how much water did you give this plant since repotting?

• birdsnblooms
    10 years ago

Kello..is the youngest stalk hollow?
    If squeezed, does it feel firm?

10' from an eastern exposure isn't enough light, especially during winter months.
    Can your Dracaena be set closer to the window?

Your Draceana is nicely-shaped, but leaves and stems are a tad thin.

Additional light will thicken both.

There are quite a few new Dracaena species sold these days.
    D. marginatas have red edges, and in sun, green has a reddish hue.
    I don't see red on your plant.

It's possible, your Dracaena isn't marginta.