Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Help! I think I overwatered my jade plant :( (Pics)

Posted by maryjade none (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 14, 13 at 17:44

I'm not very experienced, and I'm pretty sure my jade has gotten too much water and is now dying. About five days ago, it was sunny outside finally so I thought I would put my plant outside to get some sun (which was probably much needed). It started raining eventually, but I hadn't watered it in a while so I left it outside to get some water. Maybe too much water... since, the leaves are turning slightly brown and look kind of water-logged, and are falling off. The leaves towards the bottom of the stem still look okay.

So did I overwater and is there anything I can do to salvage the plant? It was bought as a hanging plant and usually hangs in a window in my bathroom. (south exposure)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Help! I think I overwatered my jade plant :( (Pics)

Another Picture of the whole plant. Thank you for your help!

o

How long was it in the direct sun? Has it been outside at all this season? Because it looks like sunscald to me.

o

That's exactly what I thought!

It looks like you might of introduced the sun to early to it and it burnt. It will make a full recovery after some leaf loss.

Hello Rhizo:-)

Mike

o

Incidentally, that is NOT a jade. Senecio jacobsenii, I believe. Not a Crassula.

Christopher.

o

Oh, yeah....there IS that. LOL! I was so mesmerized by those poor burned leaves that I overlooked that, Christopher.

Hi, Mike!

o

I didn't think of that! It was outside for several hours of sun after being indoors with indirect sunlight all winter. It's not very warm here, and I understood that it's very hard to give this kind of plant too much sun, but I'm always learning. I'm happy to hear that it should recover though! It doesn't look any worse today.