Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kaktuskris

Oncidium Orchid Score

kaktuskris
12 years ago

My local greenhouse sometimes has a "Mystery Orchid" sale, on orchids that are past bloom, but still healthy. This time, they brought the price down to $5. I think I picked the nicest of the bunch, a good sized Oncidium.

Christopher

{{gwi:84170}}

Comments (7)

• odyssey3
    12 years ago

Wow--that plant looks great. I can't believe you got it for only $5!

• jodik_gw
    12 years ago

Very nice, indeed! Now comes the part where you keep it healthy and great looking, the home environment being quite different than the greenhouse it was raised in. I'm only a novice when it comes to orchids, though...

Personally, I've found that Oncidiums require a much more humid atmosphere than I can provide... and consequently, I lost the Oncids I had. It took me a little while, but I finally found the orchid types that could survive and thrive in the environment I'm able to provide.

I wish you the best with your new orchid... it's really a nice specimen! And what a great price tag! :-)

• birdsnblooms
    12 years ago

Christopher..Very very nice, and all for a fin. Don't you love bargains? :)

It looks tall???

I'm not an expert with Orchids, only have a dozen or so..I spray their leaves daily, and most are sitting on pebbles. Every so often they go to the sink and get showered..It helps.
    Great plant..Toni

• kaktuskris
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Thanks for the nice comments! I have 3 clearance orchids, a Phalaenopsis, a Cattleya hybrid and a Dendrobium from big box and grocery stores. My Phal had 2 spent flower spikes, so I cut them both back to a node, and now two branches with what I hope are developing buds have formed.