Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
summersoff

Pachira (Money Tree) Problem. Should I Propagate to Save it?

Summersoff
12 years ago

It is not growing. At all. I have posted a similar thread a while back, but I want to take appropriate measures if it still continues not to grow into the spring and summer (if it lives that long...)

There were two Pachira trees in one pot that I bought. The other trunk got soft and rotted and the branches went brown too and died. Perhaps by over watering. I've been watering very lightly with the last tree left in the pot.

Now then, would it be ok to propagate the two branches I have to save it? I think the problem may be from the source--the roots or trunk. I'm thinking of cutting the healthy branches off and planting them, or putting them into water until it roots, and tossing the trunk.

I'm a total newbie, so I'm not sure if this would work, but the two branches seem healthy, but if this trunk is like the last one and is in the process of dieing, I want to do all that I can to save the tree.

Here's what I have left:

{{gwi:84602}}

Comments (11)

• Summersoff
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Oh and by the way, the leaves on this tree are starting go brown and die, too, one by one. Eventually I may be left with just these two little shoots. So I may need to take action soon.

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    12 years ago

Soil, water, light...

Overly water retentive soil, compounded by too much water, and perhaps not enough light...
    those are the killers of Pachira.

I think I responded to your questions last time, as well, and the growth in the pic looks good.
    Is this an old pic, have things changed? It would be nice to see the plant in its container and
    in its location (to determine lighting).

You could do an emergency re-pot, all the while recognizing that it's early in the
    season to be doing so. If you can post that picture of the pot/soil, et cetera, we can devise
    a plan.