Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
parker806

putting house plants outside for summer

parker806
15 years ago

i have a questions on the following houseplants: rubber tree, snake plant and ponytail palm. i have searched the web and one site says full sun and another says low light. i want to set them outside for the summer and need to know where to put them. thanks for the help

Comments (18)

• tisha_
    15 years ago

I'm no expert for sure. But I would keep all 3 of them out of 100% direct sun.

I have a veriegated "Rubber Tree" plant outside and keep it in an area that is covered for part of the day by an overhang on the roof of our grill area outside. Hmm...I just realized that won't make much sense if you don't know what I'm talking about. LOL

I've looked through my pictures and don't have one of it. I'll try to take one tonight. It was a rescue from Lowe's at the end of the season last year, so it's missing most of its lower leaves, but it survived in our sunroom (that has a total lack of sun! LOL) all winter and seems to be doing fairly well the past few weeks that it's been outdoors.

• tisha_
    15 years ago

I took a picture of it last night.

Remember, it was a rescue, so it's not big and beautiful. But it's doing ok. :-)

{{gwi:86275}}

• parker806
    Original Author
    15 years ago

tisha, i have never seen the varigated rubber tree before. looks healthy though. since you rescued it i am sure it do well for you. thanks for the pic and the help.

• lucy
    15 years ago

The snake plant can take all the sun you can throw at it.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    15 years ago

Tisha - if you prune the growing tip and last leaf off of each stem, the plant will back-bud like crazy & start to fill out for you.

Al

• tisha_
    15 years ago

Thanks Al!!! Is this an OK time of year to do that?

15 years ago