Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bird of Paradise repotting help.

Posted by pepibom none (My Page) on
Sun, May 29, 11 at 12:57

Hi there,
I've read that Bird of Paradise like a somewhat root-bound pot situation. I have three separate plants in a 11 inch pot(two plants are about 2 1/2 foot tall and the third is about a foot tall). When I water my plant water runs out of the bottom really quickly and quite a bit of it, I lifted the pot and found a long thickish root stretching out from the botton draining hole. Time for a repot? Should I reduce the number of plants in the pot? Sort of a beginner here and not sure where to go. The plant looks healthy, except for new leaves that split as they are unfurling(while I have your attention..any ideas about that?)...I've posted a link to a few pictures of the plant and that root. I would really appreciate any ideas. Thank you.

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii162/sabrosonics/IMGP3110.jpg

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii162/sabrosonics/IMGP3111.jpg

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii162/sabrosonics/IMGP3112.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bird of Paradise repotting help.

Hi Pepi.
As for splitting leaves...it's normal. If your Bird was outdoors in strong winds, leaves split naturally.
Other than appearance, you have nothing to worry about. They don't heal, but won't harm your Bird either.

'Should I reduce the number of plants in the pot?'

I prefer fuller plants, so tend to keep more than one (of the same type) potted together.
It's a matter of opinion, really.

After looking at your pictures, your Bird is doing great. A very healthy specimen. IMO, the three look compact.

Have you ever repotted?
It's hard to say whether or not you should repot. You can always unpot to check roots..If roots are smothering, you should either increase pot size or divide.
But I wouldn't repot in a huge container, especially if you'd like to see blooms.
If your goal is more foliage, than increase pot size.