Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wpark2419

Baby rubber plant leaves turning brown

wpark2419
9 years ago

I have a baby rubber plant that was outgrowing it's pot so I repotted it. About 2 weeks later I noticed there's brown spots/blotches on some of the leaves and a few of them have fallen off. The plant has always been healthy and nothing has changed other than being repotted. I think the brown is spreading to other leaves now too. Anyone know what it is or what I can do?

Comments (12)

• wpark2419
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Here's another photo

• asleep_in_the_garden
    9 years ago

cercospora leaf spot?

I'm a novice at this,but others here should know more.

It's a wild stab at it,though.

*Edited to throw up a link

Here is a link that might be useful: where I found that info

This post was edited by asleep_in_the_garden on Mon, May 5, 14 at 14:18

• wpark2419
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the help. I looked at your link and I don't think that's what it is...the bottom of the leaves are green and have no signs of any problem. Maybe as it gets worse it will show up on the bottom.

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    9 years ago

Peperomia I'd say. Whether that or Ficus, it would need to dry well if that soil is as dense/airless as it looks in this pic. How long has it been in the same pot? Does the pot have a hole in the bottom?

IDK about the 1st pic but the 2nd looks like sunburn. Is what's seen in the 1st pic changing/spreading? Kind of looks like something that happened a while back. Maybe some cleaning stuff got sprinkled accidentally on leaves?

• wpark2419
    Original Author
    9 years ago

The soil is miracle grow moisture control potting soil. The pot has drainage holes and a tray under it. It's not sitting in water. The location hasn't changed. Whatever is on the leaves is spreading, it's not sun damaged.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

Oedema ....

Al

• pirate_girl
    9 years ago