Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Wondering what type of plant this is?

Posted by wild4bean (My Page) on
Sat, May 12, 12 at 14:01

Hello,
I was given this plant to me a few years ago and I'm not sure exactly what it is. It seems to be happy regardless of the condition I put it through!! It did have long stems with flowers on it but I trimmed them because they dried out. I keep it in a window that gets afternoon sun.
Thanks for the help!

Here is a link that might be useful: plant in question

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Wondering what type of plant this is?

I'm guessing some type of begonia....

o

I'm not good with begonias either, but looks like a beefsteak begonia with the large round leaves.
Beverly

o

Hi all,

Yes, a Begonia, nice plant, looks happy & healthy, seems you're on the right track w/ its care. I don't believe it is Beefsteak, but I can't offer an alternate name, sorry.

o

Thank you!! I will research begonia and see if I can find the actual name. I don't have a green thumb but it doesn't keep me from trying!

o

If you haven't already, you might try asking for an ID on the Begonia forum.

It is a lovely specimen and you've done a bang-up job!

Linda

o

Thank you for all the help. I googled it and I believe it is a tea rose begonia. This forum is absolutely wonderful as well as the people that belong to it. Thank you so much everyone!!

o

Hi...I believe that Bama gardener is right, it looks alot like a beef steak bagonia....I had one once long time ago....linda

o

Emerald.....I missed Bama saying something about Beef steak but that definatly looks right. My hubby is gonna LOVE that I have a Beef Steak in the house!! lol Thanks for all the help everyone!

o