Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fonce_gw

Question About my Orange Star

Fonce
11 years ago

Hi all,

So I have recently started growing an Orange Star Plant. I am very new to gardening, so i decided to try out a house plant, and enjoy a simple plant that i can cultivate over time. I however have a few questions i was hoping to receive some help with.

Over the course of the first few weeks, i researched all i could about this plant. The general idea is constantly even moist soil, higher humidity, mist occasionally, cut dead leaves etc etc.

But i have noticed that after 3-4 weeks, that the bloom on the plant is different. Now i am unsure because there are three sections of this plant. I immediately re-potted the plant the moment i got it, and put rich soil in, raising it on top of a bed of pebbles to avoid water sitting at the base of the soil.

Certain areas are still blooming, while other parts of the flower appear to be at the end of the bloom. Now i know the leaves will die off, and i am supposed to cut them off. However, the small stem that the leaves are attached to, seem to be dwindling themselves in certain areas. The base stem of the plant is very green and appears to be healthy. While the mid section appears to not be doing so hot. the further up the stem you go, it appears healthy again. This is why i am at a loss. Perhaps if anyone else could give me advice, or if they know that this is the cycle the plant takes.

Thanks again,

Brad

Comments (12)

• PRO
    Horticultural Help
    11 years ago

I am confused by your description. Can you post a good photo that shows the entire plant, including its pot?

~Will

• flowerpottipper
    11 years ago

I think he's talking about Ornithogalum dubium, I've been seeing them everywhere for sale the past couple of months, they're really pretty.

I don't have one...yet...so I can't help, sorry.

-flowerpottipper

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    11 years ago