Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Anyone ever hack back their Rubber tree like this?

Posted by thirdyearbonsai Zone 4 VT USA (My Page) on
Tue, May 24, 11 at 18:47

Hey folks,

I've been hacking back my Ficus elastica every year now for the last three years. I'm talking complete defoliation!

It's started to branch, and I was wondering what the experts thought, and if anyone could provide some tips or experience.

Link is for the pictures. Thanks!

-3rd yr

Here is a link that might be useful: Ficus elastica pictures

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Anyone ever hack back their Rubber tree like this?

Cutting it back is fine if you do it at the right time, and from the sounds & looks of it, you've got it right. It's a good way to get it to back bud and start branching, as you've found out. It sure looks a lot nicer then the typical tall sticks with leaves. I don't think you need the experts on this one, I think YOU might be the expert.

Joe

o

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Tue, May 24, 11 at 22:47

Are you defoliating to intentionally arrest development and slow the plant down?

Al

o

I've been reading your blog entry and wondered if you only remove the leafs or a bit of the stem too? Where do the new branches come from? In the leaf axles from the leafs you removed?
I currently have a plant that I whacked back a year ago (three stems) and I would like it more bushy.
Nicole

o

• Posted by tapla z5b-6a mid-MI (My Page) on
    Wed, May 25, 11 at 22:01