Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laurelzito

Woodwardia orientalis Fern as house plant

Laurel Zito
9 years ago

I am really upset that my Woodwardia orientalis is not making it outside. I posted in the fern forum, but I got no replies. I moved it to the front of the house because I thought it would be near the house wall, and I had read that was supposed to be good for tropical plants, but I was still not getting any results. So, I dug it up and now it is in a pot in the house. I ordered it a plastic tent thing to help increase humidity. But, I have never done this before. I am just wondering what experienced people with indoor ferns can tell me? The problem is San Francisco summers can be below 50 degrees in day or night. I think if I lived somewhere with hot nights it will grow fine outdoors. In the winter it would die back, but here it just never seems to want to grow in either summer or winter. It may grow a bit if the weather is warm, but then it will stop growing completely and I will swear it died, but then it grow a bit. It's just hanging on. I have a photo posted over there on ferns.

Comments (25)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    9 years ago

Sorry no input so far. How's it going? Did an image search and that can get BIG! I'm not usually into ferns but now I think I want one too.

• patchyjack
    9 years ago

This is a fern I've been growing using the pot-moss-tub method for about a year. Before that, it kept dying back because I found it hard to get the amount of water right :/
    Instead of a terracotta pot, for my fern I've actually just wrapped the root ball in a couple of paper lunch bags! It still worked fine! LOL

• Laurel Zito
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I don't under the reason to plant the fern inside another pot.