Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mindibun

Spider plant in need of rescue

mindibun
15 years ago

It's supposed to be impossible to kill a spider plant. But, I seem to be succeeding...

I'm new to gardening/growing. This is only my second plant ever, and it was flowering and beautiful when I bought it. Unfortunately it has slowly become small, and does not flower.

I have watered it very well every few days, which is about how long it takes for the soil to dry out. I re-potted it when I got it, so it still has room to grow. I've had the plant for a few months now. The soil is a Miracle Grow potting soil mix. It hangs inside and gets indirect sunlight from a western window. It has formed a few new "babies" but none have flowered, and they are not very big.

It's not terrible looking, but it needs a little help. I'll attach some photos so you guys can see what I'm working with. ^_^

Here's the plant itself:

{{gwi:87727}}

As you can see, it's hanging in there, but could be so much better. The flowers are behind it, not part of it. :)

Here are a few close ups of the leaves. Lots or brown tips, curling edges, and dead flowers. :(

{{gwi:87728}}

{{gwi:87729}}

{{gwi:87730}}

Is this as simple as the plant not getting enough water?

Comments (10)

• erict
    15 years ago

Two things I sense ... light and water.

They do need some light. Your first pic seems to have it in front of a window with blinds closed. It needs a place where the blinds are *open*. The other pictures seem to be in artificial light. If those pictures are during the day, natural light from outside should be bright enough to make it look like such from just looking at the pictures.