Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
growhappy

Do you Superthrive?

GrowHappy
17 years ago

I've been using this(when I think about it) for the past 3-4 months. Since I don't use it regularly, I can't say that I see any real difference in my plants vitality. The instructions say that it is to be used with your regular fertilizer. For those of you who DO use it regularly, what do you say about this product's powers or lack thereof?

GH

Comments (31)

• ooojen
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Oooo, the hot topic! Hopefully, you'll get Al's scientific input on this.
    I gave ST a try, in spite of all the "snake oil" type claims on the bottle. I didn't notice any remarkable changes, either, though some people say they do. One person even went so far as to claim she saw almost instantaneous results--- faster that it'd be possible for the roots to take up the stuff and deliver it to the foliage---so I'd say there's placebo effect by proxy going on some of the time. I'm quite sure other people do legitimately see improvement in their plants after using the stuff, but ST's may or may not be the cause of the improvement. If I'd poured Mississippi River water on my plant a week or two ago, I could be convinced it was miracle stuff! Then again, maybe it was extra heat, sun and humidity we've lately that has made them take off.

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    17 years ago

This has been much discussed in this forum and you might as well take advantage of what has been said in the past!

I don't believe most of the hype, having tried it rather extensively in the past. Coincidence plays an important role here, I believe. I often use it when sticking a bunch of cuttings, however. In rooting medium, not water.