Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adib_y

Holes on Ficus Benjamina Leaves

adib_y
9 years ago

Hi everyone, I have recently bought a Ficus Benjamina plant, everything was fine until few days ago that leaves started to drop, even healthy green ones, some of them have small holes and scratches on them, I'm kind of new to house plants, can you tell me what is the problem and what are these holes on leaves.

Thanks

Comments (6)

• MsGreenFinger GW
    9 years ago

Looks like your cat is chewing on the plant.
    Leaf drop occurs when there is significant change in humidity/temperature/light.

Here is a link that might be useful: Ficus trees in containers

• adib_y
    Original Author
    9 years ago

here is another photo...

• adib_y
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I don't have any pets, there hasn't been any change in the environment. Something else should be the reason.

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    9 years ago

There are a good number of potential causes of distorted foliage, most of them nutritional, but not all, some are cultural. Are these symptoms developing on new leaves, old leaves, or randomly?

In some cases, deficiency symptoms develop in plants that were being fertilized at luxury levels at the greenhouse after they are returned to dosages closer to maintenance dosages.

The easiest way to eliminate the problem would be to review your growing practices for areas that would potentially be causal, and make changes so potential limitations become nonissues. For ficus, if you pot the plant in a soil you can water correctly w/o worry that the soil will remain soggy for extended periods and cause root rot or impaired root function, use an appropriate fertilizer, keep the plant in a spot where it gets appropriate light and favorable temps, you'll have 9/10 of the battle won. Add regular repotting to your list and take care of that chore every 1-3 years and you'll be golden.