Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Persian Shield questions

Posted by maroruben 9 (My Page) on
Sat, Jun 1, 13 at 9:31

Hello everyone, I have a persian shield in a pretty large pot. Last year it looked really nice and bushy. It stayed outside all winter. We really didn't have any bad freezes and it didn't seems to suffer much other than dropping a few leafs. This year though, the branches a long and scrawny....the new leafs are tiny. It doesn't look bushy at all. I have zero knowledge of how to care for this plant so I know it may be a pruning issue or the pot being too small. I just don't know. Here she is in all her sadness:

photo phonepictures428_zpsa4c19833.jpg
 photo phonepictures427_zps12bce619.jpg

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Persian Shield questions

Fantastic! That looks amazing, not sad.

It will grow bigger leaves in the height of summer, into fall. I can tell it's getting ready to POP! I might shape it a little, trim off the most puny little stems, especially at the ends where excessive twiggy-ness could cause the branches to break later as it does get covered with lots of big heavy leaves.

If the pot's crammed with roots, you could take it out of the pot, which might take 2 people so you don't drop or break it. Lay the root ball sideways on a rock or bag of mulch, something to hold it up higher than the ground, so the branches don't break. Someone will probably need to hold it steady while the other uses a shovel to chop off the bottom half of the root ball, fill the bottom of the pot with new soil and put the plant back in. I do that to my potted one every spring.

If some pieces do break off, you can propagate them in moist soil/potting mix or in the ground, and they almost always take root in water. If it breaks at hard wood, trim back to semi-hard, or even new soft stem for trying to propagate.

o

hi