Air Plant ID

teengardener1888
10 years ago

please tell me what var.

Comments (13)

• plantomaniac08
    10 years ago

Teen,
    I'm by no means an expert on these, but that looks like one I've seen called 'Medusa,' with less than curly leaves (In some pictures, I've seen really curly ones and in others, more straighter like yours).

Planto

• teengardener1888
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for the response.I heard tisslandias are supposed to br misted a couple times a week. is this correct

• mrlike2u
    10 years ago

Looks kind of like Thillandsia bulbosa There a Bromeliad terrestrial plant AKA Air plant..

I heard they're not very forgiven if over watered or if under watered or in a room with low humidity room or to high in humidity.
    Mist X 2 is at best fancy fiction from it's seller they have not a clue what your room is like.

• plantomaniac08
    10 years ago

Mike,
    Is "bulbosa" and "medusa" the same? They look alike when I checked for pictures of both online. Might be one of those you say potatoe, I say potato kinds of things... again, not an expert on these so they could be completely different air plants haha.

Teen,
    I have to agree with Mike, it depends on the amount of humidity you have in your house. I misted mine twice a week and soaked it once a week for 30 minutes. But, what worked for me, may be too much or too little for you. Not that this helps, but you might have to find out the amount of humidity you have in your house and go from there. I stuck it outside and watered it the same amount, not thinking, and it started turning yellow from being overwatered (higher humidity outside).

Planto

• auron22
    10 years ago

TG,
    I'm thinking it is medusae. Bulbosa looks too spindly.