Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rdanielle17

after 2 years and still no blooms on my peace lily

rdanielle17
14 years ago

My Husband and I recieved a peace lily for his moms funeral 2 years ago. It has been repotted and the leaves are thriving fine, but it has not bloomed one flower since we got it. how do i get it to bloom flowers?

Comments (14)

• karate626
    14 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I recieved my peace lilly after my Great Uncle died 3 years ago.I have noticed that if the lilly gets droopy in between waterings, then they don't flower. I don't know why this is as I am no expert.

• bunnygurl
    14 years ago

PLs like to be potbound before they'll start to flower. I've had mine for over 2 years, but it's in a fairly large pot with some space to still spread the roots, so it hasn't flowered yet.

And the drooping between waterings is not a bad thing nor the reason for not flowering. It is actually best to wait for the leaves to droop slightly before watering as overwatering with not only obviously cause root rot but it will cause the tips to brown. Dry air with brown the tips as well.

• gobluedjm 9/18 CA
    14 years ago

Peace lilies DO NOT need to be potbound to flower. I just repotted mine for the 3rd time in a few years and it still continues to flower.
    rdanielle, can you give more information about it...such as
    how much light
    how big is it
    how often do you water
    do you fertilize
    what type of soil is it in

• rdanielle17
    Original Author
    14 years ago