Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
unidentified house plant not doing very well

Posted by stew23 none (My Page) on
Thu, Jun 19, 14 at 14:35

Hi all,

I got this little plant at IKEA several months ago and promptly repotted it but it doesn't seem to have grown a millimeter since then. I have no idea what it is and the (not so helpful) label only said that it should receive bright but not direct light and to water sparingly and let dry out in between, which I have done. I'm wondering if anyone can identify it and suggest what I could do to make it happier? It doesn't appear to be dying, it just isn't flourishing.

This is my first time posting and I appreciate any responses!

Tory

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: unidentified house plant not doing very well

One of the variegated peperomia.

o

Yes, probably P. obtusifolia, but there are other similar species, and cultivars of various species. If you have a spot with more light, it may grow a little faster, though it's not a fast growing type of plant. Your Peperomia looks pretty peppy to me. House plant growth is usually measured by seasons, or even years, not months.

Here is a link that might be useful: Peperomia selection from EA

o

Hi, & yes, I think that ID is right.

Also agree this isn't a fast growing plant & that actually, it looks excellent, we can see that by how the leaves look & how firm they appear.

I'd keep doing the same as you are, but in future, when you repot, I'd add about 30% perlite to that mix to make it faster draining (that mix looks quite peaty from here).

While I don't see this in the EA listings (Exotic Angels), that ID is definitely correct for Pep., very nice one too, enjoy.

o

I think your pep is as cute as a button. I'm just posting some of my peps mixed in with lipstick, philos etc. All of these are from this season. They're in no more than 5 inch pots, some smaller than that with potting soil mixed with perlite.

o