Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
organic_amos

Help! My Juncus Spiralis Corkscrew Rush is dying!

organic_amos
15 years ago

Hi, I'm a total newb with house plants. I bought a "Unicorn Plant" from Ikea 2 weeks ago. Its in a plastic pot, it goes under the name "Juncus Spiralis", and by my research, is also called a "corkscrew rush". In the store it was beautiful and dark green, now its on its last legs. The sticker on the pot says:

"Bright, no direct sunlight (not sure what that means where I should put it exactly). Water thoroughly, allow potting soil to dry bewtween water. Mist leaves if air is dry. Fertilize every 2 months. Do not fertilize during winter".

I dont have any fertilizer, and wouldnt know what to get, so I did not fertilize. I left it on a shelf about 10' from the window. It was starting to turn brown, so I did some research on this plant, and read that it was a grass, that was supposed to love water and sun. So I soaked it plenty with water, left it sitting in the water, misted the leaves plenty, and put it outside for a day to try to revive it. That made it much, much, much worse. Now the stems are all dry, papery and crisp, wilted, ranging from light dull green to yellowish. It's a mess! I brought it indoors and put it in front of the window, 'cos I read somewhere it likes "full sun". I don't know anymore what it likes! But how could it have done so well in Ikea's store with no windows, and done so poorly in my apt? Right now, the soil is moist, but its no longer sitting in water, I've drained that.

Can I save it if I cut all the stems? Will they regrow? This was a beautiful plant, I'd hate to see it go!

Comments (4)

• organic_amos
    Original Author
    15 years ago
  • watergal
    15 years ago