Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coopfreak

Help! I'm killing my Boss's Plants!

coopfreak
11 years ago

Hello forum,

I hope that you can find it in your heart to help me. I'm new at a job and have been systematically killing my Boss's office plants. Any help or guidance would be greatly appreciated.

Plant One

{{gwi:91919}}

{{gwi:91920}}

I've been hiding the dead leaves.... :(

Plant Two

{{gwi:91921}}

{{gwi:91922}}

{{gwi:91923}}

This one is looking quite bad...

Plant Three

{{gwi:91924}}

{{gwi:91925}}

Not so bad, but still...

I don't even know what kind of plants they are and can't ask him...

I lay myself at your knowledgeable feet.

Coop

Comments (11)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    11 years ago

You really don't give much to go on, but if I was to consider only probability based on what can be seen, the odds on favorite would be on over-nurturing - more specifically over-watering and possibly over-fertilizing if you've been fertilizing.

I think the most important lesson you can learn about tending any plant in a container is that air in the soil is as important as water, and how skillfully you're able to manipulate the ratio between the two most often determines the degree of limitations AND your margin for error. Some soils are very forgiving of watering/fertilizing habits that might not be the best, while with other soils those decisions can be extremely critical - offering you little latitude.

I don't know how much effort you're willing to put into getting the basics under your belt, but if you're up for a little reading, I'll leave a link that covers some basic care and impresses how important soil choice can be.

If you don't think you want to get involved in making your own soil or trying to chase down a suitable commercially prepared product, you might find this link with suggestions for dealing with water-retentive soils helpful.