Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
olthem

Repotted my ficus and things went terrible wrong

OLTHEM
9 years ago

I have been nursing a lovely ficus lyrata for three years. One branch took off and the rest of the tree had very few leaves. After reading several posts on this plant I decided to prune the branches to gain a more symmetrical shape and repotted two days ago. I also attempted some root work after reading several of Al's posts. (Cleaned all soil from roots, rinsed and removed 1/4 of the bottom roots.

After two days, all of the leaves have drooped. Now I am worried that I have killed the plant by doing too much at once. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (22)

• patchyjack
    9 years ago

Looks like transplant shock!
    I had the same problem with a camellia sinensis last year - I accidentally damaged the roots while repotting.

What I did back then was to cut off about half of each leaf (like, cut the tip off the leaf). This reduces the amount of stress on the plant's root system, because plants loose a lot of water through their leaves.
    If the leaf surface is reduced, so is the water loss.

The other thing I did was to make up a very weak sugar solution and pour it on the roots. From memory, I think I used roughly 1/3 of a teaspoon per litre (or per quart). If you taste the solution you should barely be able to taste the sugar at all.
    This is a nice pick-me-up for the plant, and certainly won't do any harm.

My camellia un-wilted within the hour and it had new growth in the next week or so.

I've never tried this with a ficus, but that's how I usually manage transplant shock when it happens to my plants.

• OLTHEM
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thank you so much for your response. The smaller leaves have started to perk up a bit. The larger leaves still look the same.

The roots were wet when I re-planted it.