Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Convert braided trunk pachira aquatica to single trunk

Posted by llckll NJ (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 31, 13 at 9:42

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to indoor house plants but it's been very rewarding and hope to learn a lot through these forums.

I have a braided pachira aquatica about 1.5' high. I was reading through the forums and people say that single trunks will thrive better.

What is the proper way to un-braid and plant as single trunks?

Right now, it's also in regular potting soil. I think i'm going to create a mix of 1:1 potting soil and perlite. Would that be a good mix? Any other recommendations? New stems are growing but I'm sure with the right soil mix, it can thrive even more.

Also, I saw a YouTube video this morning where someone cut off a few stems and placed it in water. After a couple months, it started growing healthy roots in the water. So I proceeded to do the same this morning and placed a few stems in water. Once roots come out, I was planning on re-potting in the recommended soil. Your thoughts?

I will post pics of my current plant later on when I get home.

All your advice is greatly appreciated!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Convert braided trunk pachira aquatica to single trunk

I took this picture while messing around with my new camera. Will try to get a better shot that shows the entire plant.

I also purchased orchid mix, perlite, pumice soil. Will use 1:1:1.

Also purchased 3 10" pots to use when I unbraid.

o

Hello!
Simply unpot and separate the trunks....
Or, keep them together and re-pot into your intended Orchid Mix with added perlite and/or pumice. The reason so many folks end up with single trunks is because the other trunks die off, leaving only the healthiest. But if the braided trunks are healthy, there's no reason you can't keep them together.

Josh

o

Thanks, Josh.