Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Avocado Plant help!

Posted by joels2 none (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 20, 14 at 10:34

I have an avocado plant that I've been growing for about two years. Maybe one year ago, I chopped off the top of it (I read that this would encourage it to grow outward rather than upward).

It is indeed growing outward now, but only from the top... now it is shaped like a T. The two horizontal branches are getting long and heavy enough that I am worried it will split down the middle!

What can I do? Prune? Where?

Also: I have a stake in its pot, since the trunk is not very strong. Without the stake it would probably fall over. Is there anything I can do to encourage its trunk to grow thicker?

Picture related.

Thanks in advance for any advice!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Avocado Plant help!

It does need to be pruned, you should have pruned it before it got that tall, its nice and full, you will get some great advice from Josh or Al and other members...
Christine

o

I found a post for you to check out.....
http://forums2.gardenweb.com/forums/load/houseplt/msg111108016368.html?149
Christine

o

Hello! Christine is right...and it can easily be pruned. The question to ask is where / how high do you want the branching to begin? In other words, you could whack it down low and start all over; or you could simply nip those long branches back to the trunk (leaving just a couple inches). Whatever you do, do it soon....the season's getting long already.

Josh

o

Hi Josh and Christine,

Thanks for the replies. I think that I will probably cut back the two branches then. I'm a little too nervous about chopping parts of it to cut it at the trunk!

If I cut each branch and leave a few inches on each, I'm guessing it will branch from each of those cuts - that would be great.

Will it branch out from anywhere lower on the trunk, or would I have to cut it off somewhere lower on the trunk for that?

Thanks again,

Joel

o