Return to the House Plants Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I need help!

Posted by melsmile 9 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 29, 10 at 11:43

This is my question for the experts out there. I'm wanting to open my own plant store. Where do I find the a place to get the plants and other supplies I need? I've tried looking it up online but I get no where. Please help me.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I need help!

I think you need to spend some time researching online.

While I'm no expert & have never had a plant shop, it seems to me if you can't find the basics online, in particular where to buy your plants, you'll need to do a bunch more research before you're ready to go on this.

It's a lovely idea, but it can be a great deal of work, especially for one person. Have you ever spoken to someone who owns/runs a plant shop? Perhaps that'd be the best place to start?

o

There are TONS of vendors of wholesale foliage plants to be found on-line. Same for the containers and other accoutrements.

I see that you are in zone 9. Any chance that you might live in a location near some wholesale growers? Then you could visit their operations to check on quality, etc.

I remember receiving delivery of a truck-load of foliage plants that I had purchased sight unseen from a grower in Florida (I lived in SC at the time). When the driver opened the back of the truck, a flurry of whiteflies greeted us at the door. Really nice. It was early on in my horticulture career back then and too young to have the courage to send the whole truck back. ( I didn't learn how to do that for a couple of years, lol.)