Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kelby_miller

Help My Spider Plants

Kelby Miller
10 years ago

Please help my spider plants! They are my first house plants and all I seem to be doing is cutting them back further and making them smaller.

I got them around mothers days and have two in a hanging pot.

The one spider plant is a curly type spider plant and the other is just a normal one I guess. I am completely new to house plants. I try to water them when I fee the soil is dry. I push my finger in the top of the soil maybe an inch. When it is dry I put about 1 drinking cup size of water in over them. I have also been following the fertilizing stick directions for nutrition.

Below are some pics of what they look like.
A few weeks a go:
{{gwi:93702}}

Today:
{{gwi:93703}}

Comments (23)

• teengardener1888
    10 years ago

They look like the containers are too big, they will fill in quickly if put outside

• Kelby Miller
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I also should have said I am in zone 6. South central PA.

• pelargonium_gw
    10 years ago

You could try with a smaller container to begin with. Your watering schedule seems ok, but a larger amount of water per watering could be a good idea, especially with a smaller container. How much light does it get? Spiderplants like good light, but not direct sun. Try with a smaller container, and a good watering, thent let it dry pretty well before next watering.You should water till it runs out at the bottom, then let it run off. When the plant grows and the roots fill the container, move it to a bigger one.

• Kelby Miller
    Original Author
    10 years ago

So I should try putting both spider plants into their own smaller pots?

They sit on a table that is about 4-5 feet from a NE facing window.